sightpopla.blogg.se

Ham radio deluxe for mac os
Ham radio deluxe for mac os






ham radio deluxe for mac os

But the laptop giving up the ghost in just over a year means (to me) that everything is coming up crap - sure, Windows computers are cheap, but everything is so fragile in software and hardware components that the probability of failure is extremely high. I had no intention of going to Vista or whatever else comes up out of Microsoft. As soon as we were ready to replace the laptops - in a couple of years - that would be that. Well, once you get to that point, you have to seriously reconsider your assumptions about your platform.Īnd, to be fair, Kate and I decided not to go to Windows with the next computers we would get.

ham radio deluxe for mac os

In the meantime, over the month this was happening, we had done everything except reinstall Windows and replace the drive. Once it hit every hour, we made sure we had everything off the computer (I have always done backups, but when you have time to really look, you discover other stuff that needed backing up!).įinally, the thing wouldn’t boot up at all. Then, in a ThinkPad (I’ve always had ThinkPads here) that Kate uses started to simply lock up for no reason. The iPhone made it quite apparent to me that I didn’t need my Windows laptop with me when I went away except for DXpeditions and to access my business sites to enter in articles like this and doing maintenance work (which, of course, the passwords won’t export over to Windows so the K9JY site was down much of my vacation…). Usually the answer for a Windows problem was simple: reformat the hard drive. After searching hundreds of entries with the same problem identified as I would have - with no answers. Months would go by while searching Google for the Forums where someone finally came up with a solution that really worked. Windows was always about platforms, not making things work.Īnd work it was - I spent a great deal of time getting anti-virus software, cleaning registry software for performance, getting hard drives taken care of and chasing quirky problems that always showed up at the wrong time. It was the first sense I had that Apple was about cool tools and not about big platforms. Windows started to fail with the advent of the iPod. What I have seen looks compatible with my interfaces I already have, including Log of The World - but I haven’t tested any of it yet. I’ve seen a bit of software out there for ham radio on the Mac, but I haven’t tried any of it out just yet. Too busy getting the rest of it setup for the business ( Cube Rules). Interestingly, it was over two months ago, but I haven’t gotten around to doing any ham radio stuff with it yet.








Ham radio deluxe for mac os